Blue Bicycle Books, Charleston, SC

Upper King Street Design Walk this Thursday!

Stop in for a glass of wine during the Upper King Street Design Walk and meet the authors of Janie Mitchell, Reliable Cook, Lisa Foster and Mary Lou Coombs. The authors will be in the store this Thurs., Apr 19, 5-7:30 pm. Janie Mitchell, Reliable Cook is a┬ánon-fiction account of an ex-slave’s life, offering a snapshot view of Charleston from 1862-1931 based on Mitchell’s personal writings. The book chronicles her life as well as her relationship with her owners, the Rutledge family, and her later employment with other Charleston families. Fans of Mary Chesnut’s Diary and The Letterbook of Eliza Lucas Pinkney are sure to enjoy this wonderful piece of history.

(Evening Post Books, 104 pp. hb., $29.95)

####

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *
*
*